Recently we had National Left Handers Day. I stop to appreciate this because I am left handed. A lot of people see it as a inconvenience, or ask why don’t you just learn to do it the other way? Well I could ask the same question about you!  I have had to struggle with this my whole life and I will continue to do so for the rest of my life, but being left handed also has shown me to over come and think outside the box! I am also better listener, because I have had to hear instructions and mirror them. I have to sit in front of people and face them when I learning something new.

“Left-handers are wired into the artistic half of the brain, which makes them imaginative, creative, surprising, ambiguous, exasperating, stubborn, emotional, witty, obsessive, infuriating, delightful, original, but never, never, dull.” James T deKay

So why am I bringing this up now? Why is it a big deal to me? As a left hander I do have to learn to do things different or I have to learn to do it right handed. The only thing I do right handed is cut with scissors. Growing up in the 90’s you might remember the ugly left handed scissors, nobody could cut with those darn scissors whether you were left handed or not!  I digress, that is no really what I needed to say, I was at the bar on Sunday playing my weekly APA match of 9 ball. It was my turn to keep score while my captain  was playing against the other team and I notice that the score keeper on the other team was having a issue with her pen.  I looked to see the type of pen she was using and it just so happen to be a ball point pen with the writing grips and the push down top. (I would post a picture but most of them are subject to copyright) These pens are not made for left handed people! She agreed also because she was left handed and then another man but in to our conversation saying that’s pens are not made just for right handed people. I told him I have been have learned a lot of things and those pens are made for right handed population, the angle of the pen and the ball are and working twice are had to write.  Its a proven fact, and I am not crazy!  So he said well maybe you should learn to be right handed….

Why yes he really just said that….

To which I replied, uh…no because I like being left handed

the other scorekeeper also agreed and said yeah left handed people are way cooler

So what I guess I am trying to say is we are everywhere, yes we get excited when we meet another one of us please respect the fact we have some struggles but we have banded together and learned to deal with it, but please stop telling us to switch hands we will figure it out.

